Who should win the 2017 Ballon d'Or?

Barcelona Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid Marco Asensio La Liga News

Barcelona Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid Marco Asensio La Liga News

Paulo Dybala, Neymar, Luka Modric, Marcelo and N'Golo Kante were the first names to be released, followed by a group containing Dries Mertens, Luis Suarez, Sergio Ramos, Philippe Coutinho and Jan Oblak.

The prestigious award, which was aligned with Federation Internationale de Football Association from 2010 to 2015, has been won by either Cristiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi for the past nine years.

This year is likely too early for Neymar to truly contend, although he's elevated himself to the "best of the rest" status behind Ronaldo and Messi.

Ronaldo favourite to retain Ballon d'OrBy Semi Turaga Tuesday 10/10/2017L:R - Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Luis Suarez Robert Lewandowski.

Two-time World Cup winners Argentina are outside the top five in South American qualifying ahead of a tricky trip to Ecuador in their last match, although victory would at the least put them into a two-legged play-off against New Zealand.

Neymar has been recognised following an eventful year that has seen the Brazil star impress for both his national team and Barcelona, before his world-record summer transfer to Paris Saint-Germain.

The 25-year-old has enjoyed a seamless transition to French football with a return of eight goals in as many games as PSG look to upset European football's established order. Ligue 1 leaders Paris Saint-Germain also saw their attacking trio of Neymar, Edinson Cavani and Kylian Mbappe among the nominees.

Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea, who has kept more clean sheets (6) this season than any goalkeeper in Europe's top five leagues and Philippe Coutinho have also been nominated, along with the latter's Liverpool teammate Sadio Mane.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.