Nepal's Communist Leader Named Next Prime Minister

K P Sharma Oli

K P Sharma Oli

Nepal Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba announced his resignation from the post on Thursday.

A spokesman for the president's office says Oli was named to form a new government after the results of last November and December's elections were made official late Wednesday night. A member of the Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist-Leninist), he was the second Prime Minister under the newly adopted Constitution of Nepal.

THE leader of Nepal's largest Communist party was named prime minister today, two months after leading his party to a thumping victory in landmark elections billed as a turning point for the impoverished Himalayan nation.

Oli had earlier served as the countrys prime minister from October 11, 2015 to August 3, 2016. Deuba-led Nepali Congress lost the recent polls to provincial assemblies and parliament in 2017.

In the morning, Oli, along with Chairman of the Maoist-Centre Pushpa Kamal Dahal "Prachanda", met President Bhandari, and Oli laid claim to the top executive post on the basis of majority votes, the President's Office said.

An alliance of left parties - the CPN-UML and the CPM-Maoist Centre - has won a total of 116 seats. It was hoped that the new government that gets elected will be stable and be the first to complete a full five-year term.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.