Karolina Pliskova smashes racquet through umpire's chair after loss at Italian Open

The aftermath of Pliskova's attack

The aftermath of Pliskova's attack

After a lengthy delay that saw Pliskova call for the tournament supervisor, Sakkari converted the subsequent break point before serving out the match.

With both players locked at 5-5 in the decisive set, Pliskova smashed home a victor which was incorrectly called out much to the dismay of the Czech Republic star.

Instead of shaking hands with Mrozinska, Pliskova left a hole in the umpire chair-a move that will very likely result in a fine though none has been announced yet.

The No. 6 seed from the Czech Republic was seen arguing with the umpire on several occasions during the match, which she lost 3-6, 6-3, 7-5 in the second round of the Italian Open, USA Today reported. World No 2 Caroline Wozniacki began her campaign with a comfortable 6-1, 6-4, victory over Belgian Alison van Uytvanck.

The decision prompted fury from fans online, some calling for the umpire to be removed from their position, whilst some claimed Pliskova went too far in her actions.

A champion in Indian Wells earlier this year, Osaka has recorded a number of notable wins in a breakthrough year on the WTA Tour.

"I just tried to build my points, to build a little bit of space and open the court, and tried to make winners", said Halep.

It was the first time Sakkari had beaten a top five player in her career.

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.